T10 Vote for 14776-381

John Lohmeyer lohmeyer at t10.org
Tue Feb 29 08:42:25 PST 2000

* From the T10 Reflector (t10 at t10.org), posted by:
* John Lohmeyer <lohmeyer at t10.org>

Since Gene Milligan is IR, perhaps I should ask him to provide your the
formal recommendation from T10.  However, to get the information to you
ASAP, below is the letter ballot results on this matter.  You can also
retrieve a PDF of the results at:


T10 wishes to recommend a Yes vote on FDIS 14776-381 with comments.  The
comments are those attached to the Yes vote from Ralph Weber.  The T10
letter ballot passed 37:0:0:2=39.

Best Regards,
John Lohmeyer, Chair T10

Voting Results on T10 Letter Ballot 00-009r0 on
Recommending U.S. Yes vote on OMC FDIS

Organization                      Name                 S Vote Add'l Info
--------------------------------- -------------------- - ---- ----------
Adaptec, Inc.                     lawrence lamers      P Yes  
Advansys                          Ram Rangarajan       P Yes  
AMP, Inc.                         Charles Brill        P Yes  
Amphenol Interconnect             Bill Mable           P Yes  
Ancot Corp.                       Bart Raudebaugh      P Yes  
Andataco                          Gregg Neely          P Yes  
Berg Electronics                  Douglas Wagner       P Yes  
BREA Technologies, Inc.           Bill Galloway        P Yes  
Circuit Assembly Corp.            ian morrell          P Yes  
CMD Technology                    Edward Haske         P Yes  
Compaq Computer Corp.             Robert Elliott       P Yes  
Crossroads Systems, Inc.          Neil Wanamaker       P Yes  
Dallas Semiconductor              Charles Tashbook     P Yes  
Dell Computer                                            DNV  
ENDL                              Ralph Weber          A YesC IV Cmnts 
Fujitsu                           Eugene Lew           P Yes  
General Dynamics                  Nathan Hastad        P Yes  
Hewlett Packard Co.               Stewart Wyatt        P Yes  
Hitachi Cable Manchester,Inc      Zane Daggett         P Yes  
Hitachi Storage Products          Anthony Yang         P Yes  
Honda Connectors                  Thomas J. Kulesza    P Yes  
IBM Corp.                         George Penokie       P Yes  
KnowledgeTek, Inc.                Dennis P. Moore      P Yes  
Linfinity Micro                   Louis Grantham       P Yes  
LSI Logic Corp.                   John Lohmeyer        P Yes  

Madison Cable Corp.               jie fan              P Yes  
Maxtor Corp.                      Pete McLean          P Yes  
Molex Inc.                        Joe Dambach          A Yes  
Ophidian Designs                  Edward A. Gardner    P Yes  IV 
Panasonic Technologies, Inc       Han Zou              P Yes  
Philips Electronics               Bill McFerrin        P Yes  
QLogic Corp.                      skip jones           P Yes  
Quantum Corp.                     Mark Evans           P Yes  
Seagate Technology                Gene Milligan        P Yes  IV 
Storage Technology Corp.          Erich Oetting        P Yes  
Sun Microsystems Computer Co      Robert N. Snively    P Yes  
Texas Instruments                 Paul D. Aloisi       P Yes  
Toshiba America Elec. Comp.       Tasuku Kasebayashi   P Yes  
Western Digital Corporation                              DNV  

P       Voter indicated he/she is principal member
A       Voter indicated he/she is alternate member
O       Voter indicated he/she is observer member
?       Voter indicated he/she is not member or does not know status
YesC    Yes with comments vote
Abs     Abstain vote
DNV     Organization did not vote
IV      Individual vote (not organizational vote)
Cmnts   Comments were included with ballot
NoCmnts No comments were included with a vote that requires comments
DUP     Duplicate ballot (last ballot received from org. is counted)
PSWD    The password was not correct (vote not counted)
ORG?    Organization is not voting member of T10 (vote not counted)

Ballot totals:
 37 Yes
  0 No
  0 Abstain
  2 Organization(s) did not vote
 39 Total voting organizations
  1 Ballot(s) included comments

This 2/3rds majority ballot passed.


Comments attached to YesC ballot from Ralph Weber of 

Reference information regarding the AT bit is inconsistent and misleading.  
Clause 4.2 states: "If the device supports both address types, the address 
types can be selected using the MODE SELECT command by setting the address 
type (AT) bit of optical memory card device mode parameter header (see SCSI-3 
SPC)."  Clause 5.1 states: "If the address type (AT) bit of mode parameter 
header (see SCSI-3 SBC) is set to zero, ..."  Yet neither SPC nor SBC define 
the AT bit.  The AT bit is defined in 6.3 of this standard.

It is true that the AT bit appears in the Device-Specific Parameter field of a

mode parameter header.  Because the Device-Specific Parameter field of a mode 
parameter header is described in both SPC and SBC, references to those 
standards may be appropriate.  However, the reference should be consistent in 
both 4.2 and 5.1 and the reference must include 6.3 of this standard.  My 
recommendation would be to construct the reference as follows: "(see 6.3 and 

The following sentence in 5.1 is not consistent with SCSI-3 terminology: "The 
READ CARD CAPACITY data shall be sent during DATA IN phase of the command."  
The wording "... DATA IN phase ..." is specific to the parallel SCSI bus and 
fails to recognize implementations such as Fibre Channel.  The proper wording 
would be: "The READ CARD CAPACITY data shall be returned to the application 
client in the Data-In Buffer."

******************** End of Ballot Report ********************

At 2/29/2000 07:43 AM , you wrote:
>Dear John-
>Good Morning!
>Just a reminder to forward me the T10 vote and recommendation for 14776-381,
>Information technology — Small Computer System Interface (SCSI) — Part 381:
>Optical Memory Card Device Commands (OMC).
>Thank you for your prompt action with this vote.
>Best Regards-
John Lohmeyer                  Email: lohmeyer at t10.org
LSI Logic Corp.                Voice: +1-719-533-7560
4420 ArrowsWest Dr.              Fax: +1-719-533-7183
Colo Spgs, CO 80907

* For T10 Reflector information, send a message with
* 'info t10' (no quotes) in the message body to majordomo at t10.org

More information about the T10 mailing list