Draft Minutes T11.3 FC-SCM ad hoc work group teleconference 26 February 2008 - 2 PM to 3 PM PST

The FC-SCM ad hoc work group of the INCITS Fibre Channel Protocols T11.3 Task Group held a teleconference on 26 February 2008, hosted by Cisco. Attendance was 12 people from 8 companies and is tabulated at the end of this document.

Minutes were taken by Bob Nixon (bob.nixon@emulex.com). Please report any corrections by email to the T11.3 reflector at T11 3@mail.T11.org.

1 Opening remarks

1.1 Introductions

Claudio DeSanti opened the teleconference Tuesday, 26 February 2008 at 2:05 PM PST. He led a round of introductions.

2 Agenda

The purpose of this teleconference was included in the meeting announcement.

3 Changes to FCP-4 Annex D

T11/08-126v0

Eric Smith (EMC)

A general concern was raised that much of the new material may be appropriate for FC-SCM, but would make all existing designs FCP-4 non-compliant.

It was observed that the new material being in FCP-4 makes it unavailable for reference by FICON implementations.

It was observed that the only obvious thing that needs to go into FCP-4 is the definition of the Enhanced Discovery flag in the FCP page for PRLI.

There was concern about PRLI being extended to indicate whether or not a target has any useful logical units for the initiator. Some believed PRLI was intended to negotiate only FCP- and FC- level capabilities, so this new function was out of scope. Others disagreed. An alternative would have been returning the indication on the REPORT LUNs. The proposers like this (they tried it, and it works). They got push-back that this would require changes to SCSI primary commands.

The presenters will consider leaving the FCP-4 annex unchanged but creating a normative equivalent for FC-SCM.

The issue of a new function for PRLI to indicate the presense of useful LUNs remains to be resolved.

4 Adjournment

It was moved by MOV and seconded by SEC to adjourn. Approved unanimously.

The teleconference was adjourned at 3:04 PM PST on 26 February 2008.

5 Attendance

Organization	Representative
Brocade	Scott Kipp
Brocade	Dave Peterson
Cisco	Claudio DeSanti
Dell	Gaurav Chawla
EMC	David Black
EMC	Mark Lippett
EMC	Eric Smith
Emulex	Bob Nixon
HP	Curtis Ballard
IBM	Kevin Butt
IBM	Roger Hathorn
Nuova	Silvano Gai